Monday, March 25, 2013

Daft Punk comeback: What do we know?

The answer, sadly, is "very little". Daft Punk don't give away much. And, despite drowning in a sea of breathless news articles, the only evidence of the band's imminent return is two 15-second music clips. Damn you, robot overlords.

But don't abandon hope yet: By the power of Google, I've compiled this scrappy, second-hand list about Daft Punk's mysterious new release. You're welcome.

:: After sampling some of disco's finest moments in the past, the band have gone straight to the source: Chic's Nile Rodgers.

:: "About a year ago," Rodgers told Rolling Stone, "I get a knock on the door. First a virtual one and then a real knock – from [Daft Punk's] Guy-Manuel and Thomas". The guitar legend went on to say their subsequent collaboration felt "incredibly natural," like a yoghurt.

:: Sessions began at Rodgers' house in February last year. "They came over today around breakfast time," he told Faster Louder, "and it's now evening. I basically had to almost kick them out. We were having so much fun just in an informal setting that we decided to make it formal. And it's very formal. It's gonna be amazing."

:: According to the NME, other collaborators include Giorgio Moroder (Donna Summer), Panda Bear (Animal Collective) and Chilly Gonzales (Feist).

:: Sadly, Moroder's contribution isn't of the "vintage synth apocalypse" variety, but a ho-hum spoken word segment.

:: In better news, Billboard reports that the album features contributions from Oscar-winning composer and Monkees reject Paul Williams. I hope to God that Daft Punk have sampled this stonker from his back catalogue:

Bugsy Malone - So You Wanna Be A Boxer?

:: Daft Punk band have signed to Columbia records, home to such musical luminaries as Bruce Springsteen, Pink Floyd and... erm, Little Mix.

:: Columbia's codename for the new album was apparently "8 Across".

:: But the real title is the slightly more sexy "Random Access Memories".

:: No track names have been announced. However, if you search for Daft Punk on the PPL repertoire database, you'll find 13 new songs have been registered, with such imaginative monikers as "Track 1, Track 2, Track 3, Track 4, Track 5" get the picture.

:: Justin Timberlake will be pleased to know that about half the tracks break the coma-inducing six minute barrier. Track 4, however, is 3'48" aka the perfect length for a pop single.

:: Other songs of this duration include Can't Get You Out Of My Head, No Good Advice, Groove Is In The Heart and 99 Red Balloons.

:: Random Access Memories is out on 21st May.

:: You can pre-order it here.

:: Under no circumstances will you hear any of the songs live at Glastonbury, OK?

:: Err...

:: That's it.

Daft Punk - Fourth album trailer (pt 1)

Daft Punk - Fourth album trailer (pt 2)

Labels: , , ,

<< Home

Newer Posts ::: Older Posts

© 2014 Discopop Directory | Contact | Go to the homepage