Friday, September 7, 2012

Calvin Harris and Florence Welch and five other songs you may have missed

An increasingly regular round-up of noteworthy songs I didn't have time to blog about over the last seven days... Your guests this week include:

1) Calvin Harris ft Florence + The Machine - Sweet Nothing
Calvin recently got Florence her first number one. Now she's trying to get him his second (amazingly, I'm Not Alone is his only solo chart-topper to date). Stereogum called this "sillier and more simplistic than your average Florence track" but that's the whole point, isn't it?

2) Daley ft Jessie J - Remember Me
This is inspired by Blueboy's Remember Me, which itself sampled Marlena Shaw's magnificent, 10-minute performance of Woman Of The Ghetto at the 1973 Montreux Jazz Festival.

Daley is joined by Britain's foremost proponent of uni-legged body stockings, who trades singing "J-J-J-Jessie J" for "Geng G-G-Geng G-Geng".

A change is as good as a rest, I suppose.

3) Moya - Making Me Fall
Moya is a 21-year-old singer-songwriter from Brighton, who I think you will like a lot. "My songs are made to be played in big spaces," she says. "They could fill arenas". Her new single, Making Me Fall (out now!) would also work brilliantly in a stadium, or a quarry.

4) Grizzly Bear - Yet Again
To be filed under "sounds like Radiohead, before they bought a Macbook".

5) John Rowley - Guilt Trip
John is an unsigned singer from Sydney, Australia who wrote to me, saying he'd put his new song up online and that it had "gone down quite well so far". He continued: "I would LOVE to hear back from you, even if your response just consists of 'nope you’re crap and ugly'".

I'm a sucker for self-deprecation and, as it turns out, Guilt Trip is a rather good swirly pop tune, a bit like The Pet Shop Boys when they're being moody and enigmatic. You can buy it on John's Bandcamp page if you like what you hear.

6) Savoir Adore - Regalia
Savoir Adore are boy-girl duo Paul Hammer and Deidre Muro. Their band began as a dare - the couple challenged each other to write and record an EP in a weekend.

The result, "The Adventures of Mr. Pumpernickel and the Girl with Animals in Her Throat", earned them a recording contract and the rest is history.

Regalia, their new single, is out next month. It reminds me of that phase in the 80s when all music went a bit latin - there are staccato guitar picks and timbale drum solos all over the shop. It is basically perfect.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,

<< Home

Newer Posts ::: Older Posts

© 2014 Discopop Directory | Contact | Go to the homepage